Conquer Thy Fear- The Fear of Taking Public Pictures

I’ve been keeping my baby’s camera inside my bag for weeks but I can’t seem to find the courage to take just one picture out in the public. I’ve always wanted to study photography and I would like to take it to the next level. But how am I going to do it if I am so afraid to try?

Taking great public pictures is all about alertness, angles and just being on the right place at the right time. But doing that requires a whole lot of courage. I’m afraid that some people might find it offensive, disrespectful and even kind of odd. After all, wouldn’t it be weird if a stranger suddenly takes your picture?

So today, I decided to give it a try. I was walking with my friend to get our cards from the bank. Working at night makes me appreciate mornings more and how busy every people’s day starts. I wanted to take a picture. I just wanted to, but I decided to just keep my camera back.

It’s-now-or-maybe-just-do-it-tomorrow kind of thinking that made me ask myself: “Am I going to grab my camera or just keep it in my bag forever until it gets all dusty?”

I’ve never really enjoyed walking that much until I discovered this well- kept park, free from all the hustles of the city folks. I came from the South so I never really knew there was a quiet little spot in the middle of a busy city. It was almost so serene that I failed to notice my fingers brushing through the camera, just moving on its own and slowly taking it out from my bag. Then, without any hesitation, my arms decided to move on its own and pointed the camera at an angle and just… SNAP! I just took my first public picture! It felt great! I felt great! Finally, I was able to do one thing that I fear most. Who knows, maybe this is the start.Maybe I can finally take pictures now! I just hope that this continues. I’m taking this to the next level.

 

 

2 responses to “Conquer Thy Fear- The Fear of Taking Public Pictures

Leave a Reply

